Voting underway for NA Speaker’s election

Polling is underway for the election of Speaker National Assembly at the Parliament House inIslamabad.

The election is being held through secret ballot.

Sardar Ayaz Sadiq of PML-N and Shafqat Mahmood of PTI are the two contenders for the seat of Speaker NationalAssembly. The assembly had initially received three nominations, but MNA Ghazi Ghulab Jamal withdrew his candidature.

All the main political parties, including PPP, MQM, JUI-F, Jamaat-e-Islami, as well as independent members from FATA have announced support for the PML-N candidate.

Ayaz Sadiq, who was elected NA Speaker after 2013 election, was deseated by an election tribunal in August this year over massive irregularities in the election process in NA-122 constituency of Lahore. The decision was taken on PTI Chairman Imran Khan’s petition challenging Sadiq’s victory.

The PML-N leader recently retained his NA seat by contesting against PTI’s Aleem Khan in the NA-122 by-polls.